Document Type : Research Paper


1 Department of Mechanical Engineering, Urmia University, Urmia, 5756151818,

2 Department of Mechanical Engineering, Urmia University, Urmia


Cooling tubes are inserted into the desiccant dehumidifier liquid of a 3-fluid liquid-to-air membrane energy exchanger (LAMEE) in order to regulate the temperature of the dehumidifier liquid. As a result, the 3-fluid LAMEE's performance is significantly influenced by the refrigerated tubes. The numerical analysis of the present work shows that the number of chilled tubes and their inner diameter affect the effectiveness (total, latent, and sensible) rate of moisture removal and adequate cooling power, and exergy loss. Additionally, the dehumidifier liquid channel receives the addition of wavy cooling tubes for the first time. The relationship between wave height and wave length is known as wave steepness, and its impact on efficiency and energy loss is also examined. Numerical studies show that the number and inner diameter of the cooling tubes have a direct correlation with the efficiency of the 3-fluid LAMEE. The improved the efficiency, the more cooled tubes there are and the larger their diameter. Furthermore, both exergy loss and without dimensions exergy loss increase with the quantity and diameter of refrigerated tubes. The sensible and latent effectiveness of the 3-fluid LAMEE is increased by the wavy refrigeration tubes as compared to straight tubes; the augmentation of the sensible and latent effectiveness increases with wave steepness.

Graphical Abstract

CFD simulation and exergy evaluation of geometrical characteristics effects of refrigeration tubes in a 3-fluid LAMEE


Main Subjects

[20] S.M. Ghiaasiaan, Convective heat and mass transfer, 2nd ed., Cambridge University Press; (2018).
[22] A. Vali, Modeling a run-around heat and moisture exchanger using two counter/cross flow exchangers, PhD thesis, (2009).
[23] M. Seyed Ahmadi, Modeling the transient behavior of a run-around heat and moisture exchanger system, PhD thesis, University of Saskatchewan, (2008).